Manny? Really?

So it turns out that the first big name player to test positive for steroid fail a drug test, is L.A. Dodgers’ slugging left fielder Manny Ramirez. All of a sudden Boston’s deal for Jason Bay makes them look a lot better. The Dodgers have already brought up an outfielder from their Triple A affiliate.

Now I am suspicious about this whole thing, for some reason my gut feeling is telling me Manny made an honest mistake. I don’t know why, considering the accusations that 90% of players are on something banned, but I really don’t feel as though Manny was taking purposely taking PED’s this time around. The thing about these tests is that they don’t just test for steroids, but also a long list of everyday substances, that can be used as masking agents, but also have legitimate purposes. Given Manny’s history of intelligent decisions, I think that this could be an honest mistake.

The thing that strike me as suspicious though now is what sources say the substance was. The alleged substance was HCG – human chorionic gonadotropin, this is a fertility drug for women, that is used by steroid users to restart their natural testosterone production as they come off a cycle.

They are saying that Manny went to a doctor in Florida, and received a prescription, but the onus is still on Manny to check. I’m really interested to see how this get appealed, as Manny has superstar agent Scott Boars. Manny issues a statement right away, which I think was a smart move, and it sounds sincere, as sincere as it could be.

If Manny wants to clear his name, he needs to come 100% clean, he is already going to lose about $8 million of earnings this year, so he needs to look at the big picture and come clean. By coming clean to the fans, and the press he is doing the most that he can to make sure that he doesn’t follow the trail of so many other greats that will never make it into the Hall of Fame.

Statement from Manny

Recently I saw a physician for a personal health issue. He gave me a medication, not a steroid, which he thought was OK to give me. Unfortunately, the medication was banned under our drug policy. Under the policy that mistake is now my responsibility. I have been advised not to say anything more for now. I do want to say one other thing; I’ve taken and passed about 15 drug tests over the past five seasons. I want to apologize to Mr. McCourt, Mrs. McCourt, Mr. Torre, my teammates, the Dodger organization, and to the Dodger fans. LA is a special place to me and I know everybody is disappointed. So am I. I’m sorry about this whole situation.

Why could it not be A-Rod.

Update:

I know originally I said it seemed like it could have been an honest mistake, that was much more wishful thinking than anything else. What real reason is there for Manny to be taking a female fertility drug? Like Wilner says, he is getting up there in age and he just wants to have a baby, what’s so terrible about that?

One response to “Manny? Really?

  1. you might want to do more research into that human chorionic gonadotropin. The gun is smoking.

Leave a Reply

