There’s no Time like Championship Time

With two major, alright one major, one not so major championship just around the corner, the NBA and NHL seasons are drawing to a close. Thankfully this will hopefully mean that there is more attention being paid to baseball, although in Toronto this is never the case as they continue to have the Hockey Lunch on the Fan 590, but it also means the start of the CFL season, and the NFL is following suit in about six weeks.

First let me say that I have been getting more into the NBA playoffs than I thought I ever would, I’m really glad that I got to see a Lakers game, in LA this past season, even if they only played the Hawks. It would have been nice to see a Lebron/Kobe Final but its also fun to watch the Lakeshow kick the crap out of a Florida team. I think that the Lakers will win the Championship in six. I think that the Lakers will only be able to win one in Orlando, then finish it up at home in the Dunder Mifflin Staples Center. The NBA uses a 2-3-2 system for the playoffs, but I’m a much bigger fan of 2-2-1-1-1, sure it means more travel for the teams, but they both have to travel, and they travel just as much during the regular season anyways. It just means a fairer playoff schedule.

The NHL wraps in with a repeat of last years final, the Red Wings and Pittsburgh. Despite going to a small liberal arts university in Nova Scotia, I’m not cheering for Syd the Kid. Naturally I am a Leafs fan, but with them nowhere near the playoffs, my second choice is a Canadian team. I’d rather have the Cup in Canada, where it belongs than in Glendale Arizona Hamilton, or Anaheim. If there are no Canadian teams left then I cheer for one of the original six teams. It doesn’t make any sense, but thats what I do. Because of these rules, I want Detroit to win, not the Pens. One last reason, and perhaps the most legitimate reason for cheering for Detroit is that as a kid I remember Chris Osgood being a pretty good goalie. Part of his might have been I was reminded of him every time I want past Osgoode subway station, but nonetheless I took not of the goalie when I was younger and much more into hockey. To see him still playing, and still tearing it up, I feel that he should get another ring.

Finally I look forward to the Argos season coming up, and with some of their older players retired to make room for the youngin’s, I think this season has a lot of potential. It is always tough to predict the CFL accuratly, but I think that this season there is nowhere for the Argos to go but up, and hey we can’t be anyworse than the Tiger Cats.

-Lucas

One response to “There’s no Time like Championship Time

  1. Can’t wait til the game stars! Let’s go Lakers (clap) (clap) (clap) (clap)

Leave a Reply

