What to Watch now that Baseball is Back

Over the last week I took a little break from baseball, and thus the blog suffered as well, but fear not I’m back. The All-Star Game seemed really underwhelming this year, maybe its the fact that I’m a Canadian, but I’m fine with the whole Go America montage of presidents and flyovers, but what really bugs me is how we [Canadians] get snubbed at the Anthem. I thought it was bad a couple of years ago when it was a four piece brass band that played Oh Canada, but that’s better than what we got this year, just a playing over the PA system. The thing that gets me is how hard is it for whomever is singing/playing the Star Spangled Banner to learn Oh Canada as well. Its bad when Justin Morneau notices.


With the ‘week’ off from baseball its the perfect chance to get into some other sports. While I am no fan of UFC, I’m very much a fan of outlandish and offensive victory speeches. Once and a while its nice to watch when someone isn’t a good winner, and when the entire crowd is booing them why not. The UFC isn’t the PGA so why not have an over the top victory speech. How bad was it? You be the judge. At least he was honest when Joe Rogan asked him how it felt to win. If you were too lazy to click the link to watch the video here’s what he said;

“Fank Mir had a horseshoe up his ass. I told him that a year ago. I pulled it out of him and beat him over the head with it. [Now] I’m going to drink a Coors Light. That’s right a Coors. Bud Light don’t pay me nothing. I may even get on top of my wife tonight.”

The only thing that could save the Tour de France is Lance Armstrong, and really its the ultimate cherry on top of his already amazing story. If he does win it will be all the sweeter because he wasn’t racing to win, but the publicity hes generating for the sport is amazing, especially after the bad reputation its gotten for steroid use since Lance’s retirement. If you aren’t already following Lance on Twitter, its well worth it.

Finally, the only story that might be more fun than watching Lance kick ass at the Tour…again is  following Tom Watson on the PGA tour. He’s the leader and he is 59 years old.

Leave a Reply

